the weight of your thoughts

When I was doing martial arts we were taught to fight with intent.  I didn’t like to picture a person while I was training because hey, deep down*, I’m a peace loving gal.  So I pictured fighting FOR something.  Whether it was fighting for the grades/job/life that you wanted or World Peace, it came easier to me than picturing a person.  And it could be pretty motivating.

In climbing you don’t fight for something.  Unless you count the fight against gravity.  So weight is the name of the game.  Some days you feel light and free.  Other days you walk in carrying the weight of the world, the weight of a brand, the weight of the problems you didn’t leave outside of your 8 foot egg shell.  Sometimes it is just the self-imposed weight of the pressure we put on ourselves.  We forget to smile and enjoy ourselves.  We forget the reason we are out there.

*  Okay, VERY deep down

Leave a comment